State Board of Education


The Arkansas State Board of Education is a nine-member board. In keeping with the requirements of Act 885 of 1999, the Board is composed of two members from each of the state's four congressional districts, and the remaining member is selected at-large. The Governor appoints members for seven-year terms.

Mission: The Arkansas Department of Education strives to ensure that all children in the state have access to a quality education by providing educators, administrators and staff with leadership, resources and training.

Composed of business and community leaders, the State Board represents the diverse population of Arkansas. The Board, which meets on the second Thursday and Friday of each month, is the policy making body for public elementary and secondary education in Arkansas.

The commissioner acts as the ex-officio secretary during State Board meetings. He participates, offering the Department's perspective on agenda items and provides a Commissioner's Report each month. He does not vote.   The Arkansas Teacher of the Year participates as a non-voting member.


Alphabetical List of Topics

Common Core