English Language Development Assessment


The English Language Development Assessment (ELDA) tests English Language Learners (ELL) or Limited English Proficient (LEP) students to determine their level of proficiency in the English Language.  

The ELDA tests only students’ proficiency with the English language; it does not assess prior academic knowledge. Students in kindergarten through twelfth grade are tested in four domains:  Reading, Writing, Listening, and Speaking.

The results of the assessment help schools determine what type of English language instruction is appropriate for each ELL or LEP student.

Based on his or her composite score (the average of the scores of the four domain tests), each student is assigned a proficiency level. Students at Level 5 are considered to have English language skills comparable to those of a native English speaker.  

The five proficiency levels are:

  1. Pre-functional
  2. Beginning
  3. Intermediate
  4. Advanced
  5. Fully English Proficient


Spring 2014 Ancillary Materials

Information for Educators and Parents 


For more information, please contact:

Melody Morgan, Director of Student Assessment
Arkansas Department of Education
Division of Learning Services
Four Capitol Mall, Room 305-B
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501-682-4558

Related Files

Alphabetical List of Topics

Common Core