Augmented Benchmark Assessment and The Iowa Tests


The Arkansas Comprehensive Testing, Assessment, and Accountability Program (ACTAAP) is comprised of criterion-referenced test (CRT) and norm-referenced test (NRT) components including the Augmented Benchmark Examinations at grades 3 - 8 and The Iowa Tests® at grades 1 - 2 and 9.

The Augmented Benchmark Examinations for grades 3 - 8 combine the CRT and NRT components. The Iowa Tests comprise the NRT component of the Augmented Benchmark Examinations.

The focus of the testing at these grades is to identify those students who may be in need of remediation in the mathematics and English language arts curricula for grades 3 - 8 and in the science curriculum for grades 5 and 7.

All test items and materials for the CRT portion of the Augmented Benchmark Examinations are field tested before moving into full implementation. Field test items are embedded in the assessment.

The Iowa Tests of Basic Skills® will be administered to students in grades 1 - 2. The Iowa Tests of Educational Development® will be administered to students in grade 9.

The Benchmark Exam results are posted in the Archive Reports Center.


Ancillary Materials - Spring 2014 

Forms and Manuals:

Information for Educators, Parents and Guardians:

Guides and Tables

Released Item Booklets

Teacher Handbooks


For more information, please contact:

Melody Morgan, Director of Student Assessment
Arkansas Department of Education
Division of Learning Services
Four Capitol Mall, Room 305-B
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501-682-4558

Alphabetical List of Topics

Common Core