The Arkansas Comprehensive Testing, Assessment and Accountability Program (ACTAAP) encompasses the state's Smart Start Initiative, which focuses on Grades K-4; the state's Smart Step Initiative, which focuses on Grades 5-8; and education for Grades 9-12.

ACTAAP represents the culmination of extensive planning and discussion by Arkansas educators, policy makers, and school patrons. The authority to implement ACTAAP is established in legislation by Act 999 of 1999. ACTAAP is a comprehensive system that focuses on high academic standards, professional development, student assessment, and accountability for schools.  The focus of ACTAAP is to improve student learning and classroom instruction; provide accountability by establishing expected achievement levels and reporting on student achievement; provide program evaluation data; and assist policymakers in the decision-making process.

The U.S. Department of Education approved Arkansas's assessment system under Title I of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA), as amended by the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 (NCLB).

For more information, please contact:

Melody Morgan, Director of Student Assessment
Arkansas Department of Education
Division of Learning Services
Four Capitol Mall, Room 305-B
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501-682-4558

Alphabetical List of Topics

Common Core