The Office of Professional Development collaborates with many stakeholders to provide quality professional learning opportunities to Arkansas’s educators, administrators, and school board members.
The rules governing professional development require all licensed educators in Arkansas public schools/districts to obtain a minimum of 60 hours of professional development annually. 36 of those 60 hours are required for license renewal. Required Professional Development for License Renewal is based on the Rules Governing Professional Development and Standards for Professional Learning (LearningForward.org) as approved by the State Board of Education (SBE).
Arkansas School Board Members are required to obtain a minimum of 6 hours of professional development each year. This required training is based upon the Rules Governing Arkansas School Board Member Training.
All professional development providers and programs must be approved by the Arkansas Department of Education at least thirty (30) days before a program is offered as professional development credit. Professional Development shall adhere to the Rules and standards established by the State Board of Education.
Professional Development on Dyslexia
In partnership with local education service cooperatives, the Arkansas Department of Education is offering a six-hour training focusing on the implementation of Act 1294 and School-Based Identification of Students with Characteristics of Dyslexia. For more information about the training dates and locations, just click here.
For more information, please contact:
- Professional Development 2014-15 FAQs Posted 10/27/2014 pdf
- Rules Governing Professional Development Posted 9/6/2014 pdf
- Learning Forward: Standards for Professional Learning Posted 1/23/2014 pdf
- Rules Governing Required Training for School Board Members Posted 1/21/2014 pdf