Common Core State Standards

The Common Core State Standards define the knowledge and skills students should have to ensure readiness for college and careers. These standards were developed in collaboration with teachers, school administrators, and other experts to provide a clear and consistent framework to prepare our students for college and the workforce. The Arkansas State Board of Education adopted the Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts/Literacy and Mathematics in July 2010. 

The success of the Common Core State Standards initiative requires a partnership among Arkansas stakeholders, educators, parents, and students. A community’s stakeholders are the backbone that supports and advances schools as centers of student success. Educators are the professional facilitators of student learning. Parents and guardians are the most important source of encouragement and guidance throughout their children’s entire education. Students who take responsibility for their own learning will be better prepared to enter college or the workforce.

Arkansas began phasing in the Common Core State Standards with grades K-2 in 2011-12, followed by grades 3-8 in 2012-13 and grades 9-12 in 2013-14.  

As of September 2013, forty-five states, the District of Columbia, four territories, and the Department of Defense Education Activity have adopted the Common Core State Standards.


For more information, please contact:

Stacy Smith, Director of Curriculum and Instruction
Arkansas Department of Education
Division of Learning Services
Four Capitol Mall, Room 301-B
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501-682-7442

Alphabetical List of Topics

Common Core